Saltar a navegação

The Nobel Prize for Literature has been won this year by the British author, Doris Lessing. Lessing, who is only the 11th women to win literature’s most prestigious prize in its 106-year history, is best known for her 1962 post-modern feminist masterpiece, The Golden Notebook.
Announcing the award, the Swedish academy described Lessing as an “epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilisation to scrutiny”. It singled out The Golden Notebook for praise, calling it “a pioneering work” that “belongs to the handful of books that informed the 20th century view of the male-female relationship.”
Lessing’s agent, Jonathan Clowes, said he was “absolutely delighted” at the news of the award, which was, he said, “very well-deserved”.
Lessing’s laureateship makes this the second time in three years that the award has gone to a British author, following Harold Pinter’s honouring in 2005. The prize was awarded last year to the Turkish author Orhan Pamuk.
Fonte: Guardian

Deixe uma Resposta

Preencha os seus detalhes abaixo ou clique num ícone para iniciar sessão:

Logótipo da

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Google+ photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Google+ Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Twitter Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Facebook photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Facebook Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: